Loading...
Menu
Our Vineyard

Our vineyard is located in the district of Neckenmarkt in Mittelburgenland, which is also characterised by the dominant Blaufränkisch grape variety, also known as ‘Blaufränkischland’. Even at the end of the 1970s we produced small amounts of red wine using the Blaufränkisch variety, and these met with great recognition among wine connoisseurs. Since 1997 the wine has been marketed in bottles, and since then the name Tesch has experienced an unbelievable renaissance.

Neckenmarkt is located in the centre of Austria’s youngest federal state – Burgenland, which not only demonstrates a long-standing tradition in viniculture, but also has the strictest wine legislation in the world. With up to 2000 hours of sun a year, mild winters and nutrient-rich soils Mittelburgenland has the optimum pre-requisites for viniculture. The Celts were aware of this (around 500 B.C.), as indeed were the Romans who superseded them.

Today the soil here yields excellent white wines, and red wines in particular which are of international standing. The growing areas are particularly favourable for Blaufränkisch varieties – their clear dominance in cultivation has even lead to the Mittelburgenland being known as “Blaufränkischland”. The variety was even recognised around 800 AD as being a high quality grape variety, and today gives the wine its unmistakeable aroma of berries and full-bodied texture. Blaufränkischland stands for superb wine culture, excellent taste experiences and outstanding quality, which is recognised far beyond the borders of Austria.

More information about Neckenmarkt can be found at: www.neckenmarkt.eu and www.blaufraenkischland.at

Our vineyards cover a total area of approximately 20 hectars at the foothills of the Ödenburg mountains. The soil conditions are complex – from crystalline weathering schistous rock to deep loamy soil with good water retention capacity. With 60 %, the species ‘Blaufränkisch’ has a leading part in our vineyards.

Hochberg
Our vineyards which are up to 45 years old are located on the curved southern slope which enjoys views to Neusiedler See (6 km as the crow flies). The location which is up to 380m altitude is characterised by its crystalline rock and mica slate, making it particularly suitable for Blaufränkisch grapes.
South and south-east slopes

Weisser Weg
The vines on the south-facing slope are up to 60 years old. The medium-deep cambisol of limestone detritus and shell limestone are all used to cultivate Blaufränkisch. (BF Selection)

Further wine-growing areas
Hochäcker, Pollersgraben, Kronberg, Gfanger, Oberläng, Rüsselgrund, Hussi-Neuberg

101011_112731

In our view the challenge lies in producing excellent wines, in which the qualities of our terroir and the character of our grapes are palpable. In keeping with our philosophy as winegrowers we reduce the yield of the vines so as to maintain the best quality grapes which are then pressed and turned into top quality wines.

The vines are looked after in a natural manner, the wine grapes are sorted solely by hand, pressed and turned into wine with a great deal of intuitive feeling. Each of our vineyards has its own micro-climate and special features. It is through this type-specific, clear conversion that we want to bring out and make these specific differences and typicities in our wines something which can be tasted.

Wine-growing is more than “just” work to us. It is an expression of joie de vivre and cultural experience, which is why the family works as a team, where each member is happy to carry out their tasks.

Each year and each location places different demands upon wine-making. Careful cultivation and natural care, along with careful gathering of the grapes by hand are the basis for our top-quality wines. To do this we concentrate on grape varieties which are typical to the region, and these are perfectly selected for vinification.

We use state-of-the-art technology in the wine cellar to ensure functionality, efficiency and cleanliness and to produce distinctive wines of the highest standard. The temperature-controlled must fermentation of our wines takes place in stainless steel tanks and also in wooden fermenting stands, to achieve an optimum fermentation. After pressing, the ready- fermented red wines are filled in oak barrel containers and left to mature. It is only by doing this that our red wines find their harmony and form their character. By prior appointment (call) you can convince yourself (from Monday to Saturday) of the quality of our wines!

Loading...
Menu
Unser Weingut

Unser Weingut liegt in der Gemeinde Neckenmarkt im Mittelburgenland, das durch den dominierenden Anbau der Sorte Blaufränkisch auch als „Blaufränkischland“ bezeichnet wird. Bereits Ende der 1970er Jahre haben wir in kleinen Mengen Rotwein aus Blaufränkisch produziert, der bei Weinkennern höchste Anerkennung fand. Seit dem Jahrgang 1997 erfolgt die Vermarktung wieder in Flaschen und der Name Tesch erlebt seither eine unglaubliche Renaissance.

Neckenmarkt liegt mitten in Österreichs jüngstem Bundesland – dem Burgenland, das nicht nur eine weit zurückreichende Tradition im Weinbau, sondern auch das strengste Weingesetz der Welt aufweisen kann. Mit bis zu 2000 Sonnenstunden im Jahr, milden Wintern und nährstoffreichen Böden bietet das Mittelburgenland optimale Voraussetzungen für den Weinbau. Das wussten bereits die Kelten (ca. 500 v. Chr.) und selbstverständlich auch die nachfolgenden Römer.

Heute bringt der Boden hier hervorragende Weißweine, aber v. a. Rotweine von internationalem Format hervor. Die Anbaugebiete sind besonders optimal für die Sorte Blaufränkisch – deren klare Dominanz im Anbau hat dem Mittelburgenland auch den Beinamen „Blaufränkischland“ eingetragen. Die Sorte wurde bereits um 800 n. Chr. als qualitativ hochwertige Rebsorte anerkannt und verleiht heute den Weinen eine unverkennbare Aromatik von Beeren und eine kernige Textur. Das Blaufränkischland steht für großartige Weinkultur, herausragende Geschmackserlebnisse und hervorragende Qualität, die weit über die Grenzen Österreichs hinaus bekannt ist.

Nähere Informationen zu Neckenmarkt erfahren Sie unter: www.neckenmarkt.eu und www.blaufraenkischland.at

Unsere Weingärten umfassen insgesamt rund 20 Hektar an den Ausläufern des Ödenburger Gebirges. Die Bodenbeschaffenheit ist vielschichtig – vom kristallinen Verwitterungsschiefer bis zum tiefgründigen Lehmboden mit guter Wasserspeicherfähigkeit. Mit 60 % spielt die Sorte Blaufränkisch anteilsmäßig die Hauptrolle in unseren Weingärten.

Hochberg
Unsere bis zu 45 Jahre alten Weingärten am Hochberg liegen am geschwungenen Südhang mit Blick auf den Neusiedler See (6 km Luftlinie). Die bis zu 380 m hohe Lage zeichnet sich durch Kristallingestein und Glimmerschiefer aus und ist besonders für die Sorte Blaufränkisch geeignet.
Süd- und Südosthang

Weisser Weg
Die Rebstöcke am Südhang sind bis zu 60 Jahre alt. Die mittelgründige Braunerde aus Kalkschutt und Muschelkalk ist mit 100 % Blaufränkisch bepflanzt. (BF Selection)

Weitere Lagen
Hochäcker, Pollersgraben, Kronberg, Gfanger, Oberläng, Rüsselgrund, Hussi-Neuberg

101011_112731Wir sehen unsere Herausforderung darin, exzellente Weine zu machen. Weine, in denen die Qualitäten unseres Terroirs und der Charakter unserer Trauben zu schmecken sind. Unserer Winzerphilosophie folgend reduzieren wir den Ertrag der Rebstöcke, um so qualitativ beste Trauben zu erhalten, die zu hochwertigen Weinen gekeltert werden.

Die Rebstöcke werden naturnah gepflegt, die Weintrauben ausschließlich per Hand verlesen und mit viel Fingerspitzengefühl zu Weinen gekeltert und ausgebaut. Jeder unserer Weingärten hat sein eigenes Mikroklima und seine Besonderheiten. Durch sortentypischen und klaren Ausbau wollen wir gerade diese Unterschiede und Typizitäten in unseren Weinen hervorbringen und schmeckbar machen.

Weinbau ist für uns mehr als „nur“ Arbeit. Es ist Ausdruck von Lebensfreude und Lebenskultur und so arbeiten wir als Familie in einem Team, in dem jeder seine Aufgabe mit Freude erfüllt.

Jeder Jahrgang und jede Lage stellt unterschiedliche Ansprüche an den Weinbau. Die sorgfältige Bewirtschaftung und naturnahe Pflege sowie das behutsame Lesen der Trauben per Hand sind die Basis für unsere qualitätsvollen Weine. Dabei konzentrieren wir uns auf regionstypische Rebsorten, die perfekt selektioniert in die Vinifikation kommen. Im Weinkeller kommt modernste Technik zum Einsatz, um Funktionalität, Effizienz und Sauberkeit zu gewährleisten und charaktervolle Weine auf höchstem Niveau zu produzieren. Die temperaturkontrollierte Maischevergärung unserer Weine erfolgt in Edelstahltanks sowie in Holzgärständern, um einen optimalen Gärverlauf zu erzielen. Nach der Pressung werden die fertig vergorenen Rotweine zur Reifung in Barriquefässer gefüllt. Erst dadurch finden unsere Rotweine ihre Harmonie und bilden Charakter. Gegen telefonische Voranmeldung können Sie sich (von Montag bis Samstag) gerne selbst von den Qualitäten unserer Weine überzeugen!